CARS.COM — Did you know it would cost you less to take an Uber from Washington, D.C., to Philadelphia than to have to pay the average fine of $352 for a first time DUI offender? You could get all the way to New York for the $762 the average two-time offender has to cough up after consulting with a criminal lawyer and paying the drunk driving fee. That should put things in perspective if the well-documented dangers of drunken driving alone aren’t enough to dissuade you from getting behind the wheel after imbibing. You can look for more info about this topic, by clicking on the link.
Related: Does Your State Have a Drunk-Driving Problem?
According to reputable DUI attorneys at The Hogle Law Firm in Mesa, those averages are according to a just-released study from financial services website WalletHub.com aimed at quantifying the monetary disincentives to drinking and driving. The study ranks all 50 states and the District of Columbia for their relative stiffness of penalties for DUI offenses based on factors like fines, minimum jailtime and whether they mandate ignition interlock devices for offenders. If you ever get caught drunk driving, it’s recommended to get yourself an experienced dui attorney or an OVI Lawyer to prepare your defense. The services of a bondsman may also come in handy when its time to process your release.
Here are the states that are toughest on drunken-driving offenders:
10. West Virginia
4. Kansas, Oklahoma (tie)
Leppard Law are experts on dui charges FL and you can rely on them for legal help in case you get charged with DUI in these states. On the softer side of the spectrum, here are the most lenient states on DUI:
13. Wyoming, Wisconsin, Indiana (tie)
8. Pennsylvania, Michigan (tie)
7. New Jersey
4. North Dakota, Idaho (tie)
2. District of Columbia
1. South Dakota
Some other key facts from the Southern Cali located DUI attorneys included:
- Repeat offenders spend nearly three weeks longer behind bars than first-timers on average.
- Forty-four states and D.C. can automatically suspend your license before any court involvement if you’re arrested for DUI. And for that, you will definitely need the help of a dui lawyer.
- Offenders are mandated to have their vehicles equipped with ignition interlock devices in 44 states.
Leave a Reply